Graduation Year


Date of Thesis Acceptance

Fall 5-11-2011

Major Department or Program



Susan Pickett


American-born and European-educated concert pianist, pedagogue, and composer Marguerite Melville Liszniewska (1879-1935) penned her Piano Quintet in E minor, Op. 8 in Berlin circa 1900-1901. Performed abroad as well as in the United States throughout her career, the quintet is Melville Liszniewska's most significant surviving composition. This thesis presents the work in critical edition and includes a discussion of the quintet’s historical and performance context. The edition is accompanied by a biography of Melville Liszniewska, which addresses in particular how she navigated the challenges posed by gender, family life, and international war in order to share her talents in what was a highly successful artistic career. This research, supported by the Catharine Chism Endowment, brings to light Melville Liszniewska’s significant musical legacy.

Page Count


Subject Headings

Marguerite Melville Liszniewska (1879-1935), Pianists -- Child prodigies, Piano quintets -- E minor Op. 8, Composers -- Biography, Women composers, Music -- European influences, Women pianist -- Biography, Music appreciation, Whitman College -- Dissertation collection 2011 -- Music Department : Theory Emphasis

Permanent URL

Document Type

Whitman Community Accessible Thesis

Terms of Use

If you have questions about permitted uses of this content, please contact the ARMINDA administrator



Rights Statement

Rights Statement

In Copyright. URI:
This Item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).